93rd Recruit Class



For the 93rd Academy, Chief’s selection will occur in phases throughout the coming months. “Chief’s selection” means that an applicant is offered a recruit position at the next academy.

To be considered for selection during the first phase, the application deadline is August 20, 2017.
To be considered for selection during the second phase, the application deadline is November 12, 2017.
To be considered for selection during the second phase, the application deadline is February 11, 2018.

The ultimate application deadline for the 93rd recruit school is March 18, 2018.

In order to best accommodate applicants, the NMSP offers bi-monthly testing processes in other areas of the state. These locations are:

NMSP Las Vegas: 520 South Commerce, 505-425-6771
NMSP Roswell: 4207 West 2nd Street, 575-622-7200
NMSP Las Cruces: 4055 Sonoma Ranch Boulevard, 575-382-2500
NMSP Gallup: 4200 E. Historic Highway 66, 505-863-9353
NMSP Alamogordo: 411 Tenth Street, Suite 101, 575-437-1313
NMSP Clovis: 812 West Sixth Street, 575-762-1305
NMSP Farmington: 1025 West Navajo, 505-325-7547
NMSP Socorro: I-25 Exit 152, 575-835-0741
NMSP Deming: 3000 East Pine Street, 575-546-8548

For the above testing locations, candidates must report to the respective NMSP office at 9:00 a.m. on Saturdays and 3:00 p.m. on Wednesdays. Please call ahead to the office where you desire to test in order to be scheduled. Below are the testing dates for the next year. Each NMSP office noted above will hold testing processes on these dates:
September 2017 – Saturday 9/9/17 and Wednesday 9/20/17
October 2017 – Saturday 10/14/17 and Wednesday 10/1817
November 2017 – Saturday 11/11/17 and Wednesday 11/15/17
December 2017 – Saturday 12/16/17 and Wednesday 12/20/17
January 2018 – Saturday 1/13/18 and Wednesday 1/17/18
February 2018 – Saturday 2/17/18 and Wednesday 2/21/18
March 2018 – Saturday 3/10/18 and Wednesday 3/14/18
April 2018 – Saturday 4/14/18 and Wednesday 4/18/18
May 2018 – Saturday 5/12/18 and Wednesday 5/16/18
June 2018 – Saturday 6/9/18 and Wednesday 6/13/18
July 2018 – Saturday 7/14/18 and Wednesday 7/18/18
August 2018 – Saturday 8/11/18 and Wednesday 8/15/18

Applicants are encouraged to apply as early as possible. This is a competitive application process, and being chosen during the first, second or third phase of Chief’s selection qualifies the applicant for the NMSP Academy Preparation Program. This program consists of exclusive access to NMSP personnel and materials that will more fully prepare the applicant for the recruit school.

The New Mexico State Police is now accepting online applications for the 93rd Recruit School, a 22-week academy scheduled to begin on July 15, 2018. If you are interested in a career in law enforcement, a profession where you can be a positive influence in the lives of others, we encourage you to apply. The New Mexico State Police has a proud history of serving the citizens of New Mexico for more than 80 years.

To apply, create an account on the website and complete the on-line application. Note that since you will be providing detailed information in your written responses, you may prefer to use a desktop computer or tablet.

If your application is accepted, you will be contacted by email from nmsp.recruiting@state.nm.us, and advised of the upcoming testing dates (below). Be sure to check both your inbox and junk email folder for that email, which usually arrives in about a week if you have met the qualifications.

Note: You cannot be scheduled for a testing date without submitting an online application. All testing will begin at 0800 Mountain Time in Santa Fe, NM or Las Cruces, NM. The addresses are listed below. Please arrive in proper PT attire (sweat pants, sweater, running shoes etc.) and make sure you bring a valid driver’s license.

Learn more about our jurisdiction, our salary and benefits, our qualifications, the selection process, our Lateral Academy, and our history.

Note:  Testing will be held on every Wednesday of the month leading up to NMSP recruit schools.  The first three Wednesdays of the month, testing will be held in Santa Fe. Testing will be held in Las Cruces on the last Wednesday of each month.

Santa Fe testing address:

NM Law Enforcement Academy (Corner of Cerrillos and Jaguar road)
4491 Cerrillos road
Santa Fe, NM 87507

Las Cruces testing address:

District 4 NMSP Office (Las Cruces)
4055 Sonoma Ranch
Las Cruces, NM 88011